1899 Rules Clarifications and Admendments
13th November 1997
This is a collection of rule clarifications and amendments based on
1899 Version 1. All these have been cleared on the
Version 2 edition of the game.
If you have any further questions then please ask and I will include them
into this document. Please address any comments to me,
Chris Lawson. It is also
advisable to read the 1830 Rules Clarifications
and Admendments by Steve Thomas to answer any generic 1830 questions.
- The three whistlestops (in hexes L6, E9 and AA8) count as $10 revenue.
They must be included in a route if used; just because no value is printed
on the map does not mean they can be 'skipped' or ignored.
- Column AA is not marked on the map, it is to the right of column A.
- There are two spelling mistakes that I know of on the map. The Private
Company in S9 should be XzS not XsZ and the word Deisel should be Diesel.
- The home base for the Tsing-tau cannot be upgraded from a Yellow #57
Tile. Any upgrade would be illegal due to the surrounding grey or sea area.
- The home base for the Shi-jia-zhaung cannot be upgraded from a Green
#15 Tile. This is due to the surrounding grey area.
- There is only one Brown #63 in the tile mix because there is only one
hex, R8, where it can be placed. It is illegal to place this tile anywhere
- The stations on the Brown #98 Peking Tile are not adjacent. You cannot
run a route through Peking, it can only be used as the start and/or finish
of a route.
- When hex S5 "A" is upgraded from a Yellow to Green Tile, the revenue
does not change, it remains at $30.
- The upgrade path for the two hexes E3 and F4 marked with an "(A)" on
the map is as follows.
Please note that you are not allowed to use either the Green #92 Tile or
the Brown #63 Tile in either of these two hexes.
- If a Yellow #3 Tile is placed on hex D6, then the Green #91 cannot be
used during the game. Only if a Yellow #4 or #58 Tile is used can the hex
be upgraded to the Green #91 Tile.
- There is a typo in the Tile Upgrade list, the Green #28 Tile upgrade
should be Brown #39, #43, #46, #70.
- The stations on the Peking Brown #98 Tile are considered to be separate
cities for route purposes, so Peking can be counted twice (as the start and
finish of a route).
This page is maintained by
Chris Lawson (firstname.lastname@example.org)
Last Updated 30th May 1999